earsense - chamber music database
(last name)
Op. / Title
Has audio
Alexander Borodin Alexander Borodin

String Quartet No. 2 in D major
[To George Gershwin when he asked to become a pupil of Ravel's] You might lose your spontaneity and, instead of composing first-rate Gershwin, end up with second rate Ravel.Maurice Ravel

Kurtág, 12 Microludes (for string quartet), Op. 13

February 4th, 2011

György Kurtág (1926-)

“Hommage à Mihály András”, 12 Microludes, (for String Quartet) Op. 13, (1977)

György KurtágGyörgy Kurtág is a contemporary Hungarian Jewish composer in his mid-eighties living in France. A cursory review of his relatively small oeuvre (comprising about fifty numbers works) shows a strong penchant for chamber music, a genre in which he is also a meticulous master coach. Kurtág has composed at least four works for string quartet bringing utterly modern techniques and sensibilities to this traditional yet infinitely flexible ensemble at the center of chamber music. Significantly, Kurtág chose his first string quartet of 1959 as his official opus number one, a telling inauguration of his mature catalog of published works. His second composition for string quartet was written in 1977 to honor the 60th birthday of Mihály András, a Hungarian musician, composer, conductor and administrator of significant influence. « more »

about earsense
earsense celebrates and explores how music makes "sense" with a focus on the extraodinary genre of chamber music. The centerpiece of earsense is a comprehensive database of chamber music composers, works, events and related media called chamberbase.


Works 34,222
Composers 2,987
Women Composers 260
Nationalities 83
Audio / Video 10,172
Works with Audio / Video 3,423
Scores (public domain) 4,633
Glossary defintions 754
Program notes 139
Lists 21