Alexander Glazunov

Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936)

Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: August 10, 1865, St. Petersburg Died: March 21, 1936, Paris (age 70)

String Quartet No. 5 in d minor, Op. 70, G 118

(for 2 violins, viola and cello)
9:38 I. Andante - Allegro
4:30 II. Scherzo. Allegretto
8:31 III. Adagio (con licenza)
7:21 IV. Finale. Allegro
Duration: 28 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1898 (age 32-33)
Published: 1900 (age 34-35)
2 recordings, 5 videos
autoopen autoplay
Shostakovich Quartet
I. Andante - Allegro
Shostakovich Quartet
II. Scherzo. Allegretto
Shostakovich Quartet
III. Adagio (con licenza)
Shostakovich Quartet
IV. Finale. Allegro
Utrecht String Quartet
From Edition Silvertrust

Alexander GlazunovString Quartet No.5 in d minor, Op.70 appeared in 1900. It opens with a doleful introduction, Andante. The main theme is presented in the form of a fugue and first stated by the viola. The mood and quality of the writing reminds one of Tchaikovsky. The second subject, marked dolce, is initially entrusted to the first violin. The movement is completed by a magnificent stretto which carries all before it. The Scherzo allegretto which follows provides a tremendous contrast to the preceding Allegro. The playful main theme brings to mind the Scherzo of Beethoven’s Op.18 No.4. And, though simple, it is nonetheless handled with great cleverness. Initially presented by the first violin, the development section gives all four voices a chance to participate equally. The trio section, with its rich melodic content, provides a very effective contrast to the scherzo. The third movement is an Adagio. It is contemplative and quiet and Glazunov takes great care to preserve the tranquil and poetic quality of the music from start to finish. The gay main theme to the finale, Allegro, is introduced in the same fashion as in the first movement, in fugal form. Again one suspects that the theme is taken from a folk dance. The music is bright in mood, even playful."

The Chamber Music Journal

Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) was born in St. Petersburg, the son of a wealthy book publisher. He began studying piano at the age of nine and started composing not long after. In 1879, he began studies with Rimsky- Korsakov. Glazunov’s progress was so fast that within two years, Korsakov considered Glazunov more of a junior colleague than a student. Between 1895 and 1914, Glazunov was, during his lifetime, widely regarded, both inside and out, as Russia’s greatest living composer. His works include symphonies, ballets, operas and seven string quartets in addition to various instrumental sonatas.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: September 25, 1906, St. Petersburg Died: August 9, 1975, Moscow (age 68)
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)
Nationality: Russian
Born: March 18, 1844, Tikhvin Died: June 21, 1908, Lyubensk (age 64)
Witold Maliszewski (1873-1939)
Nationality: Polish
Born: July 20, 1873, Mohylew, Podolia Died: July 18, 1939, Zalesie (age 66)
Sergei Yuferov (1865-1927)
Nationality: Ukrainian | Russian
Born: November 2, 1865, Odessa Died: 1927 (age 61 or 62)