Carl Friedrich Abel

Carl Friedrich Abel (1723-1787)

Nationality: German
Born: December 22, 1723, Cöthen Died: June 20, 1787, London (age 63)

Sonata in C major, Op. 9, No. 2, WK. 87 (for violin, cello and continuo)

(for violin, cello and continuo)
7:13 I. Moderato
5:37 II. Tempo di Minuetto
Duration: 12 minutes (approximately)
Published: 1771-1772, London: Abel (age 47-49)
1 recordings, 2 videos
autoopen autoplay
Miklós Spányi, László Paulik, Balász Máté
I. Moderato
Miklós Spányi, László Paulik, Balász Máté
II. Tempo di Minuetto
From Edition Silvertrust

Carl Friedrich Abel Carl Friedrich Abel (1723-1787) was born in the German town of Köthen. Like his father, he became a prominent viola da gamba and cello player. He served in the Dresden court orchestra from 1749-59 before moving to London where he was appointed chamber-musician to the Queen. He was a close friend of Johann Christian Bach and the two of them founded the famous Bach-Abel concerts, England's first subscription concerts. In those concerts, many important works, such as the Symphonies of Haydn received their English premiere.

Abel's piano trios or trio sonatas as they were then known (Haydn called his first piano trios sonatas) served as models for later composers such as Haydn and Mozart who eventually created the modern piano trio. Op. 9 No. 2 is part of a set of six trio sonatas originally for violin, cello and figured bass (fortepiano or harpsichord) which were composed in 1771 and self-published by Abel in 1772. These trios were relatively short and generally in two movements. Op. 9 No. 2 has a Moderato for its first movement and a Tempo di Menuetto for its second. Though the Op.9 trios were not technically difficult, they were extremely well written and clearly meant for public performance. Abel's treatment of the cello as an equal to the violin anticipates Beethoven and is in advance of both Haydn and Mozart, who gave the cello a lesser part in their trios.

As such, this trio is not only historically important but on its own pleasing to play and hear. Our edition is based on Abel's own London publication.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.