Eduard Nápravník

Eduard Nápravník (1839-1916)

Nationality: Czech | Russian
Born: August 24, 1839, Býšť Died: November 23, 1916, St. Petersburg (age 77)

Piano Trio No. 2 in d minor, Op. 62

(for violin, cello and piano)
I. Allegro con spirito
II. Scherzo. Vivace
III. Elegie. Molto moderato
IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco
Composed: 1897 (age 57-58)
From Edition Silvertrust

Eduard NápravníkEduard Nápravník's Piano Trio No.2 in G Major dates from 1897. The opening movement, Allegro con spirito, is full of bravura, especially the exuberant opening theme in which the strings play in parallel octaves, which creates a sense of added drive as well as beauty. The second movement is a lively Scherzo with contrasting contemplative trio. Nápravník subtitled the third movement, Molto moderato, Elegie. The music is gentle, almost tender but not sad. The finale, a rousing Allegro con fuoco, is full of excitement and drama but also has its lyrical moments.

Eduard Nápravník (1839-1916) was born in Bohemian town of Beischt (now Býšť), in what was then the Habsburg Empire. He learned to play the organ at his local church and then entered the Prague Organ School after which he obtained an appointment to serve as conductor of the famous private orchestra of Prince Yusupov in St. Petersburg. Thereafter he served as conductor of the Mariinsky Theatre and later several Imperial Theaters. He became an influential figure in Russian musical life and was even mentioned in Dostoyevsky’s novel The Brothers Karamazov as a famous conductor. He premiered several of Tchaikovsky’s works and assisted the composer in tightening up certain scores. He wrote in most genres but today is remembered for his most successful opera, Dubrovsky. He did not neglect chamber music writing three string quartets, a string quintet, two piano trios, a piano quartet and several instrumental works.

There is much to recommend here, with many fresh and original touches which would certainly be welcomed in the concert hall and would also wind friends amongst experienced amateur players. We are pleased to bring back to life this worthy piano trio.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.