Eduard Nápravník

Eduard Nápravník (1839-1916)

Nationality: Czech | Russian
Born: August 24, 1839, Býšť Died: November 23, 1916, St. Petersburg (age 77)

String Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 28

(for 2 violins, viola and cello)
I. Allegro
II. Vivace
III. Larghetto
IV. Allegro con brio
Composed: 1878 (age 38-39)
Published: (?) 1890 (age 50-51)
From Edition Silvertrust

Eduard Nápravník "Although Eduard Nápravník’s String Quartet No.2 in A Major, Op.28 dating from 1890 is quite lengthy, it is still strong enough to be brought into the concert hall. This is a work with many original ideas, nicely executed and which sound quite good. The first movement, Allegro, is genial and appealing. The second movement, Vivace, is an magnificent polka with several original episodes. The vocal quality of the melodies of the Larghetto which comes next shows the composer’s gift for melody and that he is an experienced composer for opera. The finale, Allegro con moto is filled with lively dance-like themes."

Wilhelm Altmann, writing in his Handbook for Piano Quartet Players.

Eduard Nápravník (1839-1916) was born in Bohemian town of Beischt (now Býšť), in what was then the Habsburg Empire. He learned to play the organ at his local church and then entered the Prague Organ School after which he obtained an appointment to serve as conductor of the famous private orchestra of Prince Yusupov in St. Petersburg. Thereafter he served as conductor of the Mariinsky Theatre and later several Imperial Theaters. He became an influential figure in Russian musical life and was even mentioned in Dostoyevsky’s novel The Brothers Karamazov as a famous conductor. He premiered several of Tchaikovsky’s works and assisted the composer in tightening up certain scores. He wrote in most genres but today is remembered for his most successful opera, Dubrovsky. He did not neglect chamber music writing three string quartets, a string quintet, two piano trios, a piano quartet and several instrumental works.

This is is a first rate string quartet, long out of print. It certainly deserves the attention of both professionals and amateurs as well as it presents no unusual technical difficulties.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.