Ernst Pauer

Ernst Pauer (1826-1905)

Nationality: Austrian
Born: December 21, 1826, Vienna Died: May 9, 1905, Jugenheim (near Darmstadt) (age 78)

Quintet in F major, Op. 44

(for oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon and piano)
10:08 I. Allegro con brio
3:49 II. Minuetto - Trio
5:56 III. Adagio
5:48 IV. Finale. Allegro con molto leggierezza
Duration: 24 minutes (approximately)
Published: 1856, Mainz: Schott (age 29-30)
Dedication: Franz Paul Lachner
2 recordings, 5 videos
autoopen autoplay
Hexagon Ensemble
I. Allegro con brio
Hexagon Ensemble
II. Minuetto - Trio
Hexagon Ensemble
III. Adagio
Hexagon Ensemble
IV. Finale. Allegro con molto leggierezza
Chantilly Quintet
From Edition Silvertrust

Ernst Pauer Ernst Pauer's Quintet for Piano and Winds, Op.44 dates from 1856 and was composed while he was working in London. It was intended for performance at his concert series with himself serving as pianist. It is in four movements, beginning with a lively Allegro con brio which is followed by a rather classical Menuetto complete with trio. Next comes a languid Adagio which provides an excellent contrast with what has come before. The exciting finale, Allegro con molto leggierezza, tops off this fine work. This is undoubted a first class work for this ensemble, perfect for both professionals and amateurs. If brought to the concert hall, it is sure to please the audience. Long unavailable, we have reprinted the first edition, correcting mistakes and adding rehearsal letters.

Ernst Pauer (1826-1905) was born in Vienna and studied piano there with Franz Xaver Mozart (son of Wolfgang) and composition with Simon Sechter. He then traveled to Munich were he continued his studies with Franz Lachner after which he briefly took up a position as an editor for the famous publisher Schott. In 1851, he visited London giving a series of concert to great acclaim and leading to his taking up residency in England. He founded a concert series in London and was one of the city’s leading pianists. Eventually, he was appointed Professor at the Royal College of Music and also served on the music faculty of Cambridge University. As a player, he was regarded as a direct link with great Viennese traditions. He composed a great deal of music in most genres, which in its time was widely respected. In addition, he was considered one of the finest arrangers of his time.

Other works for this same combination which may be of interest to you and which we publish are Fritz Volbach's Quintet in E flat Major, Op.24, Fritz Spindler's Quintet in F Major, Op.360 and Heinrich von Herzogenberg's Quintet in E flat Major, Op.43.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.