Franz Danzi

Franz Danzi (1763-1826)

Nationality: German
Baptized: June 15, 1763, Schwetzingen Died: April 13, 1826, Karlsruhe (age 62)

Wind Quintet in d minor, Op. 68, No. 3

(for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon)
6:19 I. Andante sostenuto - Allegretto
4:06 II. Andante
4:12 III. Menuetto
3:30 IV. Allegro assai
Duration: 18 minutes (approximately)
Published: 1824 (age 60-61)
2 recordings, 5 videos
autoopen autoplay
Michael Thompson Wind Ensemble
I. Andante sostenuto - Allegretto
Michael Thompson Wind Ensemble
II. Andante
Michael Thompson Wind Ensemble
III. Menuetto
Michael Thompson Wind Ensemble
IV. Allegro assai
Deutsch, et. al.
From Edition Silvertrust

Franz DanziFranz Danzi's Wind Quintet in d minor, Op.68 No.3, was the last such work he was to write as he died not long afterward. In many ways it is the summation of his art with respect to this type of composition: appealing melodies, concisely wrought with excellent part writing.

Franz Danzi chose to write wind quintets after witnessing the tremendous financial success of Anton Reicha's first set of such works published in 1817. Danzi, who had a gift for writing melodies, lavished considerable care on his quintets, but, unlike Reicha, composed them for Everyman--the average player--and not for players of a virtuoso caliber.

Franz Danzi (1763-1826) was born near and grew up in Mannheim. He studied cello with his father and composition with Abt Vogler before he joined the famous Mannheim orchestra of the Elector in 1778. His career spanned the transition from the late Classical to the early Romantic styles. Danzi knew Mozart and mentored Carl Maria von Weber. In 1783, Danzi succeeded his father as one of the conductors of Elector’s orchestra. He eventually rose to the position of Kapellmeister at the courts in Munich and later Stuttgart. He was a prolific composer who wrote works in virtually every genre. Danzi's chamber music includes sextets, quintets, quartets and trios, some for strings, some for wind instruments and some for a combination of the two. These works are generally in a style that reflects his own early experience in Mannheim.

The Wind Quintet Op.68 No.3 in d minor is the third and final work from his last set of wind quintets. After the success of his Op.56 in 1821, Danzi followed it up with two more sets a few years later. The Quintet begins with a quiet, somewhat haunting Andante sostenuto, an extended introduction in the minor. The main part of the movement, Allegretto, is characterized by a jaunty theme which brings to mind a leisurely steeple chase. Next comes a charming Andante, perfect in every way. A sprightly Menuetto and nicely contrasting trio lead to the exciting finale, Allegro assai.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

1800 Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Georg Joseph Vogler (1749-1814) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) Franz Danzi (1763-1826) Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826) Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Georg Joseph Vogler (1749-1814)
Nationality: German
Born: June 15, 1749, Würzburg Died: May 6, 1814, Darmstadt (age 64)