Fritz Volbach

Fritz Volbach (1861-1940)

Nationality: German
Born: December 17, 1861, Wipperfürth Died: November 30, 1940, Wiesbaden (age 78)

Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 24 (for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano)

(for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano)
I. Allegro
II. Adagio, molto espressivo e solenne
III. Finale. Rondo. Allegro. (Mit schlichtem Humor)
Duration: 21 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1901 (age 39-40)
Published: 1902 (age 40-41)
Dedication: Anton Urspruch
1 recordings, 2 videos
autoopen autoplay
Camer-Collegia (Moscow ensemble of wind instruments)
(part 1 of 2)
Camer-Collegia (Moscow ensemble of wind instruments)
(part 2 of 2)
From Edition Silvertrust

Fritz Volbach Fritz Volbach's Op.24 Quintet for Piano and Winds dates from 1901. It was originally published in 1902. In three movements, it opens with an engaging Allegro in which horn presents the main theme after which the others join in. The movement, full of forward movement and appealing melody flows along effortlessly. The middle movement, Adagio molto espressivo e solenne, begins with one of the longest horn solos in the chamber music literature. Accompanied by the piano, the main theme, given out in its entirety is stately and dignified. The upbeat finale, Rondo allegro, begins with a bouncy theme in the bassoon. Volbach instructs the players that the music is to played with good humor and it is quite jovial.

Fritz Volbach (1861-1940) was born in the German town of Wipperfürth. He entered the Cologne Conservatory where he studied with Ferdinand Hiller and Eduard Grell. Besides composing he served as Music Director in Mainz and Tübingen and was appointed professor. Later, he served as a professor and Music Director at the University of Münster. Volbach's compositions include an opera, works for orchestra and chamber music.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.