Hermann Goetz

Hermann Goetz (1840-1876)

Nationality: German
Born: December 7, 1840, Königsberg Died: December 3, 1876, Hottingen (age 36)

Piano Trio in g minor, Op. 1

(for violin, cello and piano)
10:29 I. Langsam - Feurig
5:09 II. Sehr ruhig
4:32 III. Flüchtig erregt
10:03 IV. Mässig rasch
Duration: 32 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1863 (age 25-23)
Published: 1866-1867 (age 25-27)
Dedication: Hans von Bülow
1 recordings, 4 videos
autoopen autoplay
Vilmos Szabadi, Márta Gulyás, Tytus Miecznikowski
I. Langsam - Feurig
Vilmos Szabadi, Márta Gulyás, Tytus Miecznikowski
II. Sehr ruhig
Vilmos Szabadi, Márta Gulyás, Tytus Miecznikowski
III. Flüchtig erregt
Vilmos Szabadi, Márta Gulyás, Tytus Miecznikowski
IV. Mässig rasch
From Edition Silvertrust

Hermann Goetz

Hermann Goetz (1840-1876) studied theology and mathematics in Königsberg where he was born. Eventually he switched to music and attended the Stern Conservatory in Berlin where he studied with the founder Julius Stern, as well as Hans von Bülow and Hugo Ulrich. In 1862, he succeeded Theodor Kirchner as organist at the church in Winterthur.

His only piano trio, which was dedicated to Hans von Bülow, dates from 1867. It is a very impressive Opus 1 and one is forced to assume there were many other works which proceeded this very mature work.

The opening movement to the trio, Adagio-Con fuoco, begins with a slow and brooding introduction. This is followed by the highly dramatic and emotional main section which entirely fulfills the promise hinted at in the introduction. Next comes a slow, valedictory adagio, Molto tranquillo. The duet-style string writing is particularly beautiful. The third movement, Leggiero ma agitato, is an original-sounding scherzo. The finale, Allegro moderato, vivace, also opens in a brooding manner with shades of the Mendelssohn Op.49 trio, but a sunny second subject quickly chases away the clouds.

Although this is an early work, it is also a very fine one.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Hermann Goetz (1840-1876)
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Nationality: German
Born: May 7, 1833, Hamburg Died: April 3, 1897, Vienna (age 63)