featured on these lists

All Listed Works Edition Silvertrust
Julius Röntgen

Julius Röntgen (1855-1932)

Nationality: German | Dutch
Born: May 9, 1855, Leipzig Died: September 13, 1932, Bilthoven (age 77)

String Trio No. 2 in A major, Dvořák

(for violin, viola and cello)
4:42 I. Allegro con brio
4:46 II. Andantino grazioso e con molta delicatezza
4:18 III. Allegro sciolto
Duration: 14 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1918 (age 62-63)
From Edition Silvertrust

Julius Röntgen Julius Röntgen's String Trio No.2 in a minor was completed in 1918. For a long time, it was thought that Röntgen had only composed one string trio, his Op.76 in D Major which appeared in 1924. But it turns out that Röntgen, a highly prolific composer, wrote string trios throughout a good part of his life, and especially toward the end of it. There are at least 16 that are known of and perhaps more yet to be discovered. In the Netherlands Music Institute located in the Hague, there is a treasure trove of manuscripts by Röntgen, among them several string trios. Our edition has been carefully and faithfully edited by our senior editor Skyler Silvertrust from the composer's manuscript.

Each summer, Röntgen and his family would vacation in idyllic settings near the Dutch town of Bergen by the North Sea. It was there he went to escape his duties as a professor of music and conductor. And it was there, he found relaxation by composing chamber music, which he and his family would play together during the their evenings. The Trio in a minor, was actually given the nickname "Dvořák" by Röntgen himself and one finds it written at the top of his manuscript. The Czech was one of his favorite composers and Röntgen took for the main subject of the first movement, Allegro con brio, the opening bars to Dvořák's violin concerto. This theme dominates the entire energetic and attractive movement and subsequently makes its return in the finale. The middle movement, Andante grazioso e con molto delicatezza, is in two parts which are constantly being juxtaposed. The first features a dialogue between the two upper voices to the cello's pizzicato accompaniment. In the second section, which bears the character of an intermezzo, the cello takes the lead. The finale, Allegro sciolto, is a lively affair, the main subject, a hunting melody is full of energy. Toward the end, the Dvořák motif returns.

Julius Röntgen (1855-1932) was born in the German city of Leipzig. His father was a violinist and his mother a pianist. He showed musical talent at an early age and was taken to the famed pianist and composer, Carl Reinecke, the director of the Gewandhaus orchestra. Subsequently he studied piano in Munich with Franz Lachner, one of Schubert's closest friends. After a brief stint as a concert pianist, Röntgen moved to Amsterdam and taught piano there, helping to found the Amsterdam Conservatory and the subsequently world famous Concertgebouw Orchestra. He composed throughout his life and especially during his last 10 years after he retired. Though he wrote in most genres, chamber music was his most important area.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

1900 WWI WWII Carl Reinecke (1824-1910) Engelbert Röntgen (1829-1897) Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) Amanda Maier (1853-1894) Julius Röntgen (1855-1932) Johannes Röntgen (1898-1969)
Engelbert Röntgen (1829-1897)
Nationality: Dutch | German
Born: September 30, 1829, Deventer Died: December 12, 1897, Leipzig (age 68)
Johannes Röntgen (1898-1969)
Nationality: Dutch
Born: September 30, 1898, Amsterdam Died: April 28, 1969, Amsterdam (age 70)
Amanda Maier (1853-1894)
Nationality: Swedish
Born: February 20, 1853, Landskrona Died: June 15, 1894, Amsterdam (age 41)
Carl Reinecke (1824-1910)
Nationality: German
Born: June 23, 1824, Altona Died: March 10, 1910, Leipzig (age 85)
Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
friend, colleage
Nationality: Norwegian
Born: January 15, 1843, Bergen Died: September 4, 1907, Bergen (age 64)