Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Nationality: German
Baptized: December 17, 1770, Bonn Died: March 26, 1827, Vienna (age 56)

String Quartet No. 14 in c-sharp minor, Op. 131

(for 2 violins, viola and cello)
7:18 I. Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo
2:57 II. Allegro molto vivace
0:46 III. Allegro moderato
13:29 IV. Andante, ma non troppo e molto cantabile
5:02 V. Presto
2:03 VI. Adagio quasi un poco andante
6:32 VII. Allegro
Duration: 40 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1825-1826, December 1825 through August 1826, Vienna (age 54-56)
Premiere: . December 1826, Halberstadt, Saxony (Germany). The Müller Quartet
Published: 1827, April, Mainz: Schott (age 56-57)
Dedication: Baron Joseph von Stutterheim
11 recordings, 25 videos
autoopen autoplay
Danish String Quartet
Quatuor Ebène
Quatuor Mosaïques
Pascal Quartet
LaSalle Quartet
(part 1 of 4)
LaSalle Quartet
(part 2 of 4)
LaSalle Quartet
(part 3 of 4)
LaSalle Quartet
(part 4 of 4)
LaSalle Quartet
VII. Allegro
Jasper String Quartet
Endellion Quartet
(part 1 of 5)
Endellion Quartet
(part 2 of 5)
Endellion Quartet
(part 3 of 5)
Endellion Quartet
(part 4 of 5)
Endellion Quartet
(part 5 of 5)
Borealis String Quartet
American String Quartet
Alban Berg Quartet
I. Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo
Alban Berg Quartet
II. Allegro molto vivace
Alban Berg Quartet
III. Allegro moderato
Alban Berg Quartet
IV. Andante, ma non troppo e molto cantabile
Alban Berg Quartet
V. Presto
Alban Berg Quartet
VI. Adagio quasi un poco andante
Alban Berg Quartet
VII. Allegro
Afiara Quartet
From Kai Christiansen

Ludwig van Beethoven, 1770-1827

String Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131, 1826

Ludwig van BeethovenWhen the Russian Prince Galitzin approached Beethoven with a commission for "one, two or three" quartets, he helped catalyze one of the most wondrous creations in all of chamber music: the ineffable "late" quartets of Beethoven. After finishing the three commissioned quartets, Beethoven kept on composing adding a forth and fifth quartet and a final revised movement comprising a singular corpus of sustained musical thought and feeling of tremendous scope and arguable unity. All for the string quartet. Spanning a working focus of two years time, these are Beethoven's final compositions, testament to his enduring devotion to the string quartet, witness to his mastery, transcendence and everlasting dominance of this august genre.

Beethoven took the classical string quartet from Haydn and Mozart and, over the course of his life, radically expanded the art form in every conceivable way. He not only made his quartets longer, more complicated and more difficult to play, more impossible, he also made them more intellectually and emotional intense. More majestic, tragic, funny, simple, brilliant, imponderable and miraculous. Simply, more profound, more alive, more vividly real. The fourth of the late quartets in the order he composed them, Op. 131 is, by ample testimony, the greatest of them all. It was Beethoven's favorite. Schubert's final musical request was to hear Beethoven's Op. 131. Wagner wrote a florid, poetic tome about the epic greatness of Op. 131. There is no ultimate objective judgment, but these are fine, suggestive pointers. It is not ingenuous to say that this just might be la crème de la crème.

With seven movements and typically, the longest duration of any of his quartets, Op. 131 would seem to be Beethoven's most expansive utterance. All seven movements are played without pause creating a single giant continuous structure embracing an initial somber but lyrical fugue, two vibrant scherzi, a colossal theme and variations, connective recitative, a wisp of heartbreaking adagio and a dazzling finale cresting in mountainous developments alongside the most delicate, visceral, effervescent and tensile textures imaginable. For both the first and the last movements, is it revealing to consider that Beethoven had composed the monolithic Op. 133 Grosse Fuge immediately prior. The central theme and variations by itself is among Beethoven's greatest creations. And it is not the technical details that most amaze. It is how the music makes one feel.

Attempting to write about Op. 131 reaches a glorious impasse: 1 word is too many, 10,000 are not enough. There is and will always be the music. Thanks to Prince Galitzin, and Beethoven.

© Kai Christiansen Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

Archduke Rudolph (1788-1831)
Nationality: Austrian
Born: January 8, 1788, Florence Died: July 4, 1831, Baden (age 43)
Ferdinand Ries (1784-1838)
Nationality: German
Baptized: November 28, 1784, Bonn Died: January 13, 1838, Frankfurt (age 53)
Carl Czerny (1791-1857)
Nationality: Austrian
Born: February 21, 1791, Vienna Died: July 15, 1857, Vienna (age 66)
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Nationality: Austrian
Born: March 31, 1732, Rohrau, Austria Died: May 31, 1809, Vienna (age 77)
Christian Gottlob Neefe (1748-1798)
Nationality: German
Born: February 5, 1748, Chemnitz Died: January 26, 1798, Dessau (age 49)
Johann Albrechtsberger (1736-1809)
Nationality: Austrian
Born: February 3, 1736, Klosterneuburg Died: March 7, 1809, Vienna (age 73)
Nikolaus Zmeskáll (1759-1833)
Nationality: Hungarian
Born: November 20, 1759, Unterkubin Died: June 23, 1833, Vienna (age 73)
Friedrich Kuhlau (1786-1832)
Nationality: German | Danish
Born: September 11, 1786, Uelzen Died: March 12, 1832, Copenhagen (age 45)
Johann Hummel (1778-1837)
Nationality: Austrian
Born: November 14, 1778, Pressburg (now Bratislava) Died: October 17, 1837, Weimar (age 58)
Emanuel Aloys Förster (1748-1823)
Nationality: Austrian | Bohemian
Born: January 26, 1748, Niederstaina Died: November 12, 1823, Vienna (age 75)
Heinrich Marschner (1795-1861)
Nationality: German
Born: August 16, 1795, Zittau Died: December 14, 1861, Hanover (age 66)