Sergei Taneyev

Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915)

Nationality: Russian
Born: November 25, 1856, Vladimir-na-Klyaz′me Died: June 19, 1915, Dyud′kovo (age 58)

String Trio in D major, Op. 21 (for 2 violins and viola)

(for 2 violins and viola)
7:29 I. Allegro giocoso e semplice
6:34 II. Menuetto. Allegro ma non troppo
5:46 III. Andante
3:09 IV. Vivace
Duration: 18 minutes (approximately)
Composed: 1907 (age 50-51)
Published: 1909 (age 52-53)
1 recordings, 4 videos
autoopen autoplay
Taneyev String Quartet
I. Allegro giocoso e semplice
Taneyev String Quartet
II. Menuetto. Allegro ma non troppo
Taneyev String Quartet
III. Andante
Taneyev String Quartet
IV. Vivace
From Edition Silvertrust

Sergei Taneyev"Taneyev's String Trio for 2 Violins and Viola is splendid house music in the best sense of the word, but it also deserves a place in the concert hall where it will please."--the esteemed chamber music expert Wilhelm Altmann, writing in his Chamber Music Handbook.

Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915) is one of the greatest Russian composers from the last half of the 19th and early 20th centuries and probably, from this group, the one whose music is the least known in the West. Taneyev came from an aristocratic family that patronized the arts and when Sergei's talent became apparent, his father sent him to the newly opened Moscow Conservatory at the age of 10. His main teachers there were Nicolai Rubinstein for piano and Tchaikovsky for composition. Although he became a brilliant pianist, Taneyev opted for a career as a composer and teacher and soon became a professor at the Conservatory. His fame both as a teacher and as a composer quickly spread. Among his many students were Gliere, Rachmaninov, Gretchaninov, Scriabin and Medtner. In Russian concert halls, one always finds a bust of Taneyev alongside those of Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Sadly, the fame of this outstanding composer has not spread beyond his homeland.

Altmann describes the Trio as follows:

"This trio is in no way difficult to play and certainly is an important addition to the scanty literature for this combination. In the first two movements, the spirit of Mozart, albeit in an updated guise, is present. The opening movement, Allegro giocoso is bright and sunny throughout. The second movement, Menuetto, is a late Romantic version of a baroque dance. The third movement, Andante, is a heart-felt romance. The finale, though fleet and jocular, is also lyrical and dramatic."

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

1900 WWI WWII Alexander Borodin (1833-1887) Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908) Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915) Alexander Grechaninov (1864-1956) Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) Serge Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) Reinhold Glière (1875-1956) Konstantin Eiges (1875-1950) Nikolai Medtner (1880-1951)
Reinhold Glière (1875-1956)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: January 11, 1875, Kiev Died: June 23, 1956, Moscow (age 81)
Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Nationality: Russian
Born: May 7, 1840, Kamsko-Votkinsk Died: November 6, 1893, St. Petersburg (age 53)
Alexander Grechaninov (1864-1956)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: October 25, 1864, Moscow Died: January 3, 1956, New York (age 91)
Serge Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
Nationality: Russian
Born: April 1, 1873, Oneg Died: March 28, 1943, Beverly Hills, CA (age 69)
Nikolai Medtner (1880-1951)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: January 5, 1880, Moscow Died: November 13, 1951, London (age 71)
Konstantin Eiges (1875-1950)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: June 5, 1875, Bogodukhov Died: December 2, 1950, Moscow (age 75)