Wilhelm Volckmar

Wilhelm Volckmar (1812-1887)

Nationality: German
Born: December 26, 1812, Hersfeld Died: August 27, 1887, Homberg (age 74)

String Quartet in G major, Op. 58, 3 Leichte Quartette, No. 2

(for 2 violins, viola and cello)
I. Adagio - Allegro moderato
II. Andantino con variazioni
III. Scherzo. Allegro molto - Trio
IV. Finale. Allegretto
Published: 1861 (age 48-49)
From Edition Silvertrust

Wilhelm Volckmar (1812-1887) was born in the German town of Hersfeld. He received much of his musical training from his father, Adam Volckmar, who was a prominent organist. Wilhelm went on to be one of the great organ virtuosi of the 19th century and spent his life both teaching and touring. He also authored several books on music theory that were well received. Most of his compositions are for the organ, however, he did write three string quartets, his Op.58, which date from 1861.

His String Quartet in G Major, Op.58 No.2 opens with an Adagio introduction which has the air of the Baroque, and which leads to an upbeat and energetic Allegro moderato. The second movement, Andantino, is a theme and set of four variations. Next comes a bumptious Scherzo. The work concludes with a dignified, classical Allegro, full of drive.

This is an excellent choice for an amateur quartet looking for a concert or competition work. It is well-written with good parts for all and presents no technical difficulties. Out of print for a very long, we are pleased to make it available again.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.