Witold Maliszewski

Witold Maliszewski (1873-1939)

Nationality: Polish
Born: July 20, 1873, Mohylew, Podolia Died: July 18, 1939, Zalesie (age 66)

String Quartet No. 2 in C major, Op. 6

(for 2 violins, viola and cello)
I. Largo - Allegro
II. Andante con tristezza
III. Allegretto scherzando
IV. Allegro
Published: 1905 (age 31-32)
From Edition Silvertrust

Witold Maliszewski"One is sure to get much pleasure from Witold Maliszewski's beautifully written and always interesting three string quartets which present no great technical difficulties and in which all of the parts are grateful to play. Maliszewski’s String Quartet No.2 in C Major appeared in 1905. It begins with a Largo introduction, which because of the first violin part, resembles a brief recitativ leading to the main section Allegro with its upbeat, energetic, lyrical and plastic themes. The second movement, Andante con tristtezza is in essence a romance. Two quicker sections, poco piu mosso, provide excellent contrast and have considerable charm. Next comes an appealing dance-like Allegretto scherzando, with its rather striking rhythm that gives the music considerable lilt. The very effective and lively finale, Allegro, begins as a fugue and moves forward with great energy interspersed with slower and more lyrical sections."

Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.

Witold Maliszewski (1873-1939) was born in the town of Mohyliv-Podilskyi, then part of Russian Poland now located in Ukraine. His initial studies were at the Imperial Conservatory in Tiflis (now Tbilisi) with Mikhail Ivanov-Ippolitov. He then attended the St. Petersburg Conservatory where he studied with Rimsky-Korsakov and Glazunov. In 1908, he obtained the position of conductor of the Odessa Symphony Orchestra. He was active in Odessa until 1920 and was a founder and first director of the Odessa Conservatory. Due to the Russian Revolution, he moved to Warsaw in 1920 where he held several positions, including Professor of Composition at the Warsaw Conservatory. He composed in most genres and his chamber music was held in particularly high regard, winning several competition prizes.

Here is a very appealing work from the Russian Romantic school. It has been out of print for nearly a century. Certainly it should not be missed by amateurs but professionals can count on it being a success in the concert hall where it is sure to be well received.

© Edition Silvertrust. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related Composers

1900 WWI WWII Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908) Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov (1859-1935) Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) Witold Maliszewski (1873-1939) Witold Lutosławski (1913-1994)
Witold Lutosławski (1913-1994)
Nationality: Polish
Born: January 25, 1913, Warsaw Died: February 6, 1994, Warsaw (age 81)
Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov (1859-1935)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: November 19, 1859, Gatchina Died: January 28, 1935, Moscow (age 75)
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)
Nationality: Russian
Born: March 18, 1844, Tikhvin Died: June 21, 1908, Lyubensk (age 64)
Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936)
Nationality: Russian | Soviet
Born: August 10, 1865, St. Petersburg Died: March 21, 1936, Paris (age 70)